Reviews

Wheat Beer (Wit) bobthebrewer April 30th 2021

Brewferm Wheat Tripel

Brewed as instructions on the tin. Spot on again, true to style, it does everything a wheat beer should. I can't fault these Brewferm kits, they have to be the best available.
Ambiorix bobthebrewer March 6th 2021

Belgian Brown

Belgian Brown, perviously Ambriorix, rebranded, it's the one with Super Saison yeast.   Brewferm have updated their range of brews and they now have varietal yeasts that come with the kits.  Super Saison yeast is a super attenuator. (diastaticus)

Brewed with no mods, instructions on the tin followed. Excellent results. This is a highly attenuated brown ale that manages to give a balanced profile despite the 8% abv and the limited amount of residual sugars. You could mistake it for a 4% beer.

Perfectly balanced bitterness with strong hints of acidity, it works all the way. Five star rating for me, i'll be going back for some more.

 

Woodfordes Wherry Bitter bobthebrewer February 16th 2021

Wherry

Wherry, 1st rebrew since 2013. Not overwhelmed, in your face caramel, some bitterness, makes me think of a toy beer, a facsimile.

 

4 star all the same, outha tin intatha bin & youn got beer.

 

couldn't  be easier 

Raspberry (Framboise) bobthebrewer January 7th 2021

Framboos

Done Kit & Kilo wise, no mods.  Lovely balanced beer at the end, raspberry background with some hop bitterness that blends beautifully with the sweeter red fruit.  A spot of home-brew that compares very favourably with commercial beers even though this one is not entirely like the dessert raspberry beers that I have found on the supermarket shelves. Brewferm Framboos is a beer first, it tastes like beer with raspberry in it. 

Five star for me, excellent, straight out of the tin no mods, home-made beer within 3 - 4 weeks and it is just SO easy.

I was so impressed, I went out and bought another two tins, the last batch just disappeared.

 

 

Old Flemish Brown bobthebrewer December 16th 2020

Flemish Brown

Rebrew, sugar replaced by DME this time, 1 kg.  Excellent results within a month start to finish.  17 x 75 cl bottles of Flemish Brown Ale at £1.5 a shot, bargain.

Spot on kit.

Winter Ale bobthebrewer November 7th 2020

Previously Called Christmas Ale

Excellent kit, spot on.  Five stars, no problems.  Easy brewing, decent results at the end even though it requires at least six months conditioning. The beer just gets better and better as it ages.

Woodfordes Wherry Bitter philipg October 27th 2020

Very Good!

I tried Hombrewing about 30 years ago. The results were horrid enough to make me stop. I started again recently and have done 7 Wherry brews all of which were drinkable, the more recent being very good. I'm a lot more patient than I was 30 years back and have established that the following has produced really good beer:

1) throw away the instructions - they are worse than useless!

2) pitch at no more than 20 degrees

3) Primary ferment for min 3 weeks - it seems longer is better within reason (up to a few months)

4) secondary ferment (I use a barrel) min 3 weeks - it tastes a bit 'rubbery' when first moved to secondary but 3 weeks conditioning solves this

I've experimented with various water methods but found that just boiling the malt in a few pints of water to help with the dissolving and then just adding cold from the tap works for me. I use 70g sugar for the secondary.

I've had 3 or 4 consistently good beers using this method. Just started a Muntons American Pale using the same method but it looks as though it might not start although I've read that the american yeasts can take 3-4 days so will wait and see.

 

I give this a 5 because with a bit of tinkering as above I think it is a great one to start with as it is so reliable.

Morgans Canadian Pilsner Soundguy September 24th 2020

Not bad

brewmate enh#2, W34/70 dry hopped 5 days in. 8 weeks after bottling it's not bad, no hint of hops but ok drink.

Morgans Blue Mountain Lager Soundguy September 24th 2020

ok

used w34/70, 1kg light malt, 250g multidextrin. 6 weeks after bottle quite a good drop not an award winner but no concentrate after taste easy summer beer.

Mangrove Jack's Irish Stout Soundguy September 24th 2020

Disappointing

US04, 1kg dark malt, 250 dextrose. Didnt carb up too well, 7 weeks post bottle day it's ok, I will work my way through it but wont offer it to anyone

Coopers Mexican Cerveza Soundguy September 24th 2020

ok

1kg dext, 500g dme, 250 multi, W34/70, 3 weeks in the bottle and it's not a bad drop

Morgans Iron Bark Dark Ale Soundguy August 17th 2020

not bad

1kg dark malt, US04, 2 weeks primary, 4 weeks bottle, pretty good, 21litre. Next time would prob add 500g dextrose for a bit more booze but a good mid strength as is.

Mangrove Jack's Belgian Ale Soundguy August 17th 2020

working my way through it

not a winner this one, 1kg LME, US05, 21litre, worked out about 5% maybe a bit more tastes like cheap beer

Coopers Original Draught BEAVERBOY July 21st 2020

COOPERS DRAUGHT

Been brewing mosta my life, just got into pressure fermenting and kegging, tend to favour the lighter lager type beers and add extra to them to add taste, body etc,

tried coopers draught as a base, added my own home grown hops orange sunrise, and the grated peel and juice of one orange, result was a very drinkable ale, will be even better after aging in my ikegger keg, definitly try again maybe using different additional fruits ?? to give different flavours.

Black Rock Lager petux June 3rd 2020

An attempt to replicate Millers lite?

Terrible just terrible, I am tempted to pour it out but I guess who knows maybe a miracle will happen? , will repost if it improves but Im not holding my breath.

Its a clever marketing idea though, a brew kit for people who don't like beer.

Its been 3 weeks, carbonation was a real problem as mentioned by others once the yeast had run out it did not seem to want to re-activate, do not use the supplied yeast.

Watery, tasteless and characterless I brewed it with 15% light dried malt and invert sugar at 20o, maybe a kilo of pure light malt instead of invert sugar and more hops might have saved it but really?

Its average two and a half stars  stars is being very charitable in my opinion, I give this dog one star at this time.

Pete

Coopers Real Ale <3 Beer May 23rd 2020

Not for me thanks.

Normally I do a recipe to the supplied instructions before reviewing. This time I skipped over, using MJ ale yeast, wheat malt and dry hopping with EKG in addition to the booster, as I figured the apparently large fan base of Real Ale made it a sure winner. Nope. By the time it had aged sufficiently to lose the awful iso hop taste which initially dominated the flavour, the EKG had long faded and the wheat malt was stale. No doubt a recipe fail, but I cant disguise my disappointment in this kit from any angle. Coopers do a wide range with some great entries, so I put this down to it being a budget end kit for beer lovers with -er- different tastes. Probably would be ok just doing the basic recipe and ageing a few months. But that would be a bit dull, right?

American IPA - Brewery Pouch <3 Beer May 22nd 2020

Nothing more to do

From the moment the pouch opened I was certain MJ nailed this one. The malts were just right and the hops excellent quality. The flavour intensity is more than sufficient to permit an extra 500g of ldm above the standard kg of malt booster. Given the style, extra fermentables are virtually mandatory in truth. This one is best sipped, and delivers all the expected fruity floral notes of an AIPA. It takes about 3 months to really peak if you use all the hops. IPAs are supposed to be pungent but it is possible to hold back some here, as the combo herein is truly Bold. There are a couple of issues with this kit. The pouch opening both extract and instructions like all these kits, the yeast is slow to work, particularly so with extra malts, and the recommendation to pitch hops without a bag is downright dumb, given the way these pellets disperse. They are just traps for first timers, not real detractors. Highly recommended for all hop lovers.

Black Rock Mexican Lager Bizzo April 20th 2020

A nice crisp lager

Started this kit last month. Added 1kg Brew Sugar. Brewed short to 20 litres. OG was 1042, pitched the tiny packet of yeast (5g) that came with the kit at 22°. Set the Inkbird to 20°. After 3 days the fermentation still hadn't started, so I added a packet of Wilko's yeast and within a couple of hours it was bubbling constantly. It came out at 4.9% AVB, and it tastes great. Would of given it 5 stars but for the tiny packet of yeast that didn't work. 

Coopers Sparkling Ale nomoregoon February 29th 2020

better than store bought version once hopped with Northern Brewer :)

this is my go2 recepie for lighter colour refreshing tasty ass beer. 2weeks in primary with kit yeast, and 1kg BE3. Then add 40g Northern Brewers Hops in hop tea form (steep in just boiled water no longer than 10 min in big cofee plunger, its a bitter kit so it can take it :). transfer to keg, cold crash (in keg) and carbonate. Result: 21 ltr of Utter beer nirvana.    

Preacher's Hefe Wheat <3 Beer February 20th 2020

Popular but a little disappointing

I am a real fan of this beer style, and it has been years between making one so I gave the Preachers kit a run. I used Morgans wheat lme 1.2 kg along with the standard yeast at 20-22 degrees controlled temp as is usually recommended. It pours hazy, with a decent head and has the desired bready, faintly citrus notes with sweetness and low bitterness. The flavour didnt taste its best until about 3 weeks; a bit slower than expected. Unfortunately the promised clove and banana esters are near to nonexistent. Serving at about 9+ degrees celsius is required to taste anything at all. The yeast was definitely not over pitched, so this is possibly because I habitually oxygenate the wort and forgot to NOT do that (oops) or because this yeast really requires fermentation around 17 degrees, as some do, to achieve its best. Friends and family loved it, but to me it was decent but just a little boring. If I did the same again, I would try to correct these mistakes, or otherwise add a little tettnager hops. Given I followed the recipe on the label, I can only give this 3 star unless the reason for the lack of ester development is clear.

Page 1 of 81, showing 20 records out of 1616 total, starting on record 1, ending on 20