Reviews

Family Secret Amber Ale Mancave arts February 18th 2018

American amber ale.

Method:

1.7kgs of Cooper's  family secret amber ale. 

1.5kgs of Thomas Cooper's amber extract. 

25gs of cascade hops dry.

Kit yeast.

Review; ????????????????????

Strong maple and orange flavours, medium to full bodied beer. My only criticism is i should have thrown more hops in! (but as iam reviewing the kit and not my recipe ).. its very hard to falt the kit, easily one of there best kits in there series.  

Coopers Australian Pale Ale Mancave arts February 18th 2018

Midstrenght session ale.

Method : 

1.7kgs of Cooper's Pale ale 

500g's of light dried malt 

Hops; I've used galaxy /pride of ringwood /saaz/Fuggles. 

Yeast;  love the lager/ale yeast that comes stock, used other yeast never quite as good.

Review; This kit is in my opinion Cooper's best. It has a strong malt back bone and the wheat and crystal grain in the kit make it a pure session ale. Does it taste like the green label though??  I think if you re-culture the yeast with a kilo of lme your on the money for sure.

Black Rock Miners Stout Mancave arts February 18th 2018

Blackmagic baby.

Method : 

1.7kgs of Blackrock miners ale

500g's of dark dried malt 

500g's of light dried malt. 

500g'sof dextrose. 

Kit yeast

No hops.

Day 5 added half a bottle of creame de caco choclate essence. 

Review : Rich and intense chocolatey malt flavours. A great wintertime fire side ale. I've used Morgan's and Cooper's but this one in my opinion this is the superior stout kit.

Black Rock Mexican Lager phillip1 February 4th 2018

A great lager

Brewed at 22 C using a brewhouse lager enhancer which consisted of dextrose, light dry malt extract , maltodextrin and Dr Rudi Hops. Used Saflayer S-23 yeast. Turned out great. My partner who is not a great beer drinker thoroughly enjoyed this. Not to far off from Corona or Sol. Would definetely brew again.

Coopers Original Lager Colfa January 29th 2018

My first brewing fail

Brewed a fair bit of coopers, generally following the suggested recipe using BE2 and kit yeast. This one came out bland, not like a lager at all. Maybe it can be improved if you used some adjuncts but the only one of the range I have found undrinkable without extras. 

Coopers Australian Pale Ale Colfa January 29th 2018

Great drop

Brewed at 18 degrees with us 05 yeast and dry hopped for 6 days with citra. Tasted like grass out of the fermenter but after a few weeks in the keg turned out to be a crowd favourite. 

Coopers Real Ale Colfa January 29th 2018

My favourite

Have brewed a few times now, first one had an after-taste as the fermentation temperature was too high. Have since had great results brewing at 18 degrees using us05 yeast and BE2. Dependable results and always popular with the commercial beer drinking friends. Latest one in the fermenter has hop additions and smells fantastic. A high quality, cost effective brew. 

Blonde Ale Deanco December 29th 2017

Average turn out

Sadly a very average beer compared to many of the other WW kits.

Golden Crown Lager Deanco December 29th 2017

Turned out great with a few additions..

I made this tin up with 2kg Briess Pilsen dry malt like i do for all my kits and used a 34/70 lager yeast with 20grams extra of Nelson Sauvin hops in a 10 min separate boil prior to mixing in the fermenter. Temp controlled at 23C for 23L and produced a nice 5.5% Pilsner with roughly 40 IBU's. This was a fast ferment with a nice warm pilsner taste.

Bacchus German Pilsner - Fresh Wort Deanco December 28th 2017

Great drop, true to style.

I did this fresh wort sometime back now but it was good, very traditional style. All my guests loved it.

Bohemian Pilsner Deanco December 28th 2017

Best beer kit in the range!

I have brewed most of the WW kits in one fashion or another and with hop additons etc. For a base kit with no alterations, this is by far the best and an outstanding drinking beer. Popular with the guys.

Ruby Red Ale Soyyojuli December 23rd 2017

The ruby red is awesome

This kit is very good. I've made 10-15 different batches, mostly one can kits and lately I've been adding hops and DME to them. With this kit all that is pointless. This two can kit has got everything. No need to add anything. It was made in a blink. OG 1044 and after two weeks in the fermenter FG was 1011 and really clear already. I siphoned it to a second fermenter with 100 gr of priming sugar and bottled. After just 9 days I opened one ( yeah I know I shouldn't but) it was so good already! I beautiful fizz and with good head. The taste ooh the taste! Colour a nice and dark brown/red. 

This is one that isn't going to last. I've got to make a new one soon. Run and buy if you haven't already! Gorgeous!

Muntons Bock Beer THEGVR December 21st 2017

it's a good beer.

I brewed this beer about a month ago and can asure you that this is a good beer. 
but it does need some time to let the flavours come out. the yeast they provide with the kit is fine alltough I wouldn't use an ale yeast for a bockbeer it works out good and the recipie is easy to follow and not full with commercial bullshit such as use muntons this use muntons that it gives you great alternatives and there is plenty of room to experiment. I decieded to leave one crate for now and open it in a year from bottle date to see what happens but so far so good it tatstes perfect.

Brew A IPA stevonz November 23rd 2017

Good Drop - more like an American Ale

Brew A can

1kg BE2

50g Galaxy (dry hop)

 

Made up to 19L and fermented with yeast provided. Dry hopped after primary fermentation, cold crashed after 4 days & kegged.

After 1 week in the keg I was really suprised with the results.  A very nice hat I would call American Ale.

Definitely going onto permanent rotation in my kegerator!

Thomas Coopers Devil's Half Ruby Porter Scotchpie October 4th 2017

Sessionable Autumn/Winter Beer

This is an excellent one can kit.  I made it in my usual way with a kilo of Muntons enhancer and 500g DME and also added 15g Chinook as a hop tea addition.  Fermenting was over in just five days (quickest I've had) and finished at 1.011.

The beer is wonderful. Two weeks from bottling and it has a nice sweet dark flavour that will only improve with age (if I allow it the time). The Chinook has also added a subtle pine flavour.  

Very impressed and will be buying again now the weather is turning colder. A nice sessionable autumn/winter beer.

Thomas Coopers Devil's Half Ruby Porter The_Hard_Man September 21st 2017

Very impressed!

I'm a relatively recent starter in the homebrew stakes but the Coopers range has become a staple for me. I've been happy with every brew I've done - mostly Pale Ales, Lager and Draughts (and one Irish Stout). I'd never even heard of Porter before so I didn't know what to expect with this one. This is emminently drinkable and but still has depth of flavour. I batch primed this brew, carefully stirring in dissolved dextrose into the same fermenter, just before bottling. I was a bit concerned when the first bottle I opened (2 weeks later as directed by the label) was completely flat. Another 2 weeks on and all concerns were gone when I opened up very impressive bottle. 

 

Well done Coopers!

Brew A IPA Hoppy September 14th 2017

Nice drop

Not a bad drop at all after 4 weeks in the bottle.

 

Brew A can

1.5kg ldm

300g caramalt

250g light crystal

15g citra/mosaic/simcoe @ 10 mins

15g citra/mosaic/simcoe  dry hop

MJ M42/kit yeast re-hydrated

 

I would probably go more caramalt next time but it is tasting fabulous.

 

Coopers European Lager Aaron September 11th 2017

Coopers Green neck lager recipe

I made this to 21 litres

1 x European Lager kit, 800 g Brew enhancer # 1, 500 g LDME, 1 x Carapils grain pack ,

1 x Mangrove Jacks M 84 yeast fermented at 11-12 C.

I really love the way this one has turned out at just 20 days test. Great light bitterness and crisp dry finish. Could add hops but I'd rather save them for my Pale Ales and IPA's.

Excelent hot day summer drinking light tasting beer. Will definitely do again as it gets warmer.

well worth giving a go!

 

 

Family Secret Amber Ale Aaron August 27th 2017

Family Secret Amber Ale

What a nice beer, put down with kit yeast, 1kg of Brigalow extra malt, 1 Brigalow Galaxy Finishing Hops all bought from Big W on special, brewed for 3 weeks in the tub then bottled, Wow, after 2 weeks it was ok but 6 weeks later double wow, this is really a good beer, when your mates come around and you pour them a beer and non of them pick it as a homebrew and even say thats a nice beer what is it, you know your onto a winner, i have another bubbling away as we speak. would recommend this brew for anyone who just wants a beer that tastes and smells like a beer.

Munich Lager OMBREW August 21st 2017

Below average Kit

I brewed this all dry powder kit for the first time, and second time to brew lager.

After more than two weeks the foam did not disappear. Bottled with 2 Carbonation drops and drank after 2 weeks. The smell was not quite pleasant and almost soar so I was not sure if it was contaminated or not as the instruction asked for cool water to dissolve all the ingredients.

Long story short, I  think the pack is below average. I did not have a  Munich Lager to compare the taste and flavour, the taste is a little bit cidery, it turned out to have too much gas in the bottle, the taste and flavour got a lot better after week 4 in the bottle.  

Page 1 of 78, showing 20 records out of 1546 total, starting on record 1, ending on 20