Reviews

Coopers Real Ale Glen_4559 July 22nd 2018

Great Beer

Brewed with 1 kg LDM and kit yeast ....finned after 10 days bottled after 14 day ... SG 1040 FG 1006 .... has a great deep rich amber brown colour and creamy white lingering head ... smooth malty taste with nice hint of hop ...  highly recommend as it is easy and tastes great ... commercial beer drinkers love it ... 

Coopers Canadian Blonde Glen_4559 July 22nd 2018

Easy drinker with a smidgen of lager style sweetness

Lovely easy drinking beer ... this light amber Blond is an easy drinker in the new light Ale style but to me is reminds me of a Lager. I always have some of this aging .... great after a months better after 3 ... Last brew made with Kit yeast and 1/2 kilo each of LDM and Dex ... SG 1040 FG 1006 ABV 5.057% ...  

Coopers European Lager Glen_4559 July 22nd 2018

Wish i could nail this ...

Made kit but it finished way to fast as I had issues with temp control .... was cloudy in bottle and the monthly tastings showed little potential .... now been in bottle for 5 months and has developed nicely ... cloudiness has gone and flavour is good ... have since fixed temperature issues and just did another brew at 12 - 14 degrees finned at 12 days and bottles at 14 .... needs another 2 months in bottle before ready and hope it is as good as I have heard ... will return and up date ... 

Coopers Stout Glen_4559 July 22nd 2018

Great Brew

used kit yeast with 1 kg LDM .... great smooth taste .... wonderful dark colour with lingering white head ... finned at 12 days bottles at 14 ... brewed at 12 - 16 degrees ...  its a 5 from me 

86 Days Pilsner Glen_4559 July 22nd 2018

this was a fail for me ...

Brewed this twice and dispappointed to say It was a fail .... 1st brew was way too quick as i had issues with temp control that brew was cloudy in the bottle had loads of ester flavours and even after 5 months has not improved enough to say that it was a success although cloudyness has gone... second brew was done as per the 1st but with 1 kg of LDM and brewed with better temp control... was brewed at 12 -16 degrees .... fined at 12 and bottled at 14 ... after a month has same taste issues as the 1st brew .... will leave for a few months and revisit review ... but as of this moment will not be doing again unless age turns it into a huge winner ... for mine a tough brew to master ... 

Diabolo bobthebrewer July 7th 2018

Diabolo

Tried a year old version brewed by a friend.  Tastes true to style to me, actually like a Belgian beer, even if I did find it a bit sweet.  But that's what Belgian beers are like .... I'm not a fan but I can't fault the kit, it does what it says on the tin, it makes beer that tastes like it's Belgian !

Woodfordes Wherry Bitter Harmergeddon July 3rd 2018

Woodfordes wherry

I bought a number of these kits from wilkos when they were on special. First two i made as per instructions and both came out rubbish. Had that homebrew twang to them and way too bitter.

After that i split all the cans up and used them in my own hybrid extract recipes. I would not recomend this kit.

 

Bootmaker Pale Ale turkish May 14th 2018

Very Good

i drank couple of bottles that was made by a mate. Kit is perfect. he added 50gr cascade dry hop. Result was perfect

Coopers Real Ale Trav_C May 12th 2018

Cooper Ale review

Found a kit in the garage which was 4 years past its best before date.  Took up a challenge to make a palatable.

Ingredients:

1 x coopers real ale kit, 500g Amber malt (DRY), 300g dextrose, 500ml honey, 300g Crystal grain (Steeped) , 300g oats (Mashed), 20g SAAZ hops (Steeped), 20g cascade dry hopped), M44 mangrove jacks yeast. Added water to make 23l

Fermented in the primary for 10 days.  Bulked primed with dextrose.  Bottled conditioned for 4 weeks.

Very good result and was surprised the flavour of the hops very pronounced.  already have another one of these down as all of my freind prefered this over the 10 batches i have the beer fridge.

Muntons Cerveza Earflaps April 3rd 2018

A New Favourite

Light tasting with a hint of bitterness like a Pale Ale...love it!

Added 500gms of LDME along with 750gms of Dextrose and made 20L (I think).  Added additional 1/2 pack of US-05 yeast and a small amount of Heading Powder. Brewed at 24C for a day then reduced to 17C for the remaining 3 weeks.  Racked straight from Primary to Keg and chilled with carbonation for 2 weeks. Came out to aprox 5.7% alcohol.  The head was a little more than I would have liked so I will definately stay away from the Heading Powder next time.

Black Rock NZ Company Bitter nomoregoon March 23rd 2018

smooth for an out of dater

Was about to buy coopers english stylemy cornin  bitter and ended up swapping for this kit at last min half price $9au cuz she waz out'o'date by 6month. Thought what the heck. brewed with rebitched us-04n yeast, 0.5 kg ldme, 350grm brew sugar, 20ltr, fnish hop with Equinaut 25grm steep for 10 min. kegged. only have drank the 1.5 ltr that wouldent fit  in my corny. force carb with carb cap on keg day. it was rater yeasty due to shaking etc but dang, wow imean one of my best brews and kit was out o date by a fair stretch beer will only improve and its lready the shiz. Im a big big fan of tha equinaut with this style brew.

Coopers Wheat Beer Cavcavali March 19th 2018

One of the worst

I brewed a lot of hefe with wyeast 3068 and used a lot of different kits. Port66, muntons, brewferm Tarwabier and this. This was the thinnest beer of them all and lack of mouthfeel really is a killjoy with wheatbeers.

Woodfordes Wherry Bitter Cavcavali March 19th 2018

Best English bitter kit

I love this kit. Comes almost everything you need to make a good beer (I add 500gr light malt extract or sugar) and after two months bottle conditioning the taste was priceless.

 

Pros: comes with good yeast

3kg malt extract 

Really tasty

 

Comes:takes about 2 months for best results

No dry hops included

E.S.B Extra Special Stout thequeeg March 16th 2018

IRISH BEATER

Last brewed 13 Jan 2016 and now getting towards the end of stock. I agree with other reviews, this is one of the best Stouts I have brewed or consumed 

Irish Red Ale phillip1 February 28th 2018

A great beer

Made as per the tins instructions. Fermented between 20 and 23 celcius. Bottled on day 10. A very nice  beer that will improve with time. The kit is a little pricey .....but results justify cost.

 

 

 

 

 

Summer Ale phillip1 February 28th 2018

Wow what a great beer.

Purchased after reading great reviews on Amazon. Strictly speaking this is a cream ale. Followed the tins instructions and used the supplied Williamswarn dry malt extract and yeast. Fermented at 20 to 23 celcius and bottled on day 10. A very nice example of this style of beer. Kit is a little pricey...but end result justifies price.

 

Family Secret Amber Ale Mancave arts February 18th 2018

American amber ale.

Method:

1.7kgs of Cooper's  family secret amber ale. 

1.5kgs of Thomas Cooper's amber extract. 

25gs of cascade hops dry.

Kit yeast.

Review; ????????????????????

Strong maple and orange flavours, medium to full bodied beer. My only criticism is i should have thrown more hops in! (but as iam reviewing the kit and not my recipe ).. its very hard to falt the kit, easily one of there best kits in there series.  

Coopers Australian Pale Ale Mancave arts February 18th 2018

Midstrenght session ale.

Method : 

1.7kgs of Cooper's Pale ale 

500g's of light dried malt 

Hops; I've used galaxy /pride of ringwood /saaz/Fuggles. 

Yeast;  love the lager/ale yeast that comes stock, used other yeast never quite as good.

Review; This kit is in my opinion Cooper's best. It has a strong malt back bone and the wheat and crystal grain in the kit make it a pure session ale. Does it taste like the green label though??  I think if you re-culture the yeast with a kilo of lme your on the money for sure.

Black Rock Miners Stout Mancave arts February 18th 2018

Blackmagic baby.

Method : 

1.7kgs of Blackrock miners ale

500g's of dark dried malt 

500g's of light dried malt. 

500g'sof dextrose. 

Kit yeast

No hops.

Day 5 added half a bottle of creame de caco choclate essence. 

Review : Rich and intense chocolatey malt flavours. A great wintertime fire side ale. I've used Morgan's and Cooper's but this one in my opinion this is the superior stout kit.

Black Rock Mexican Lager phillip1 February 4th 2018

A great lager

Brewed at 22 C using a brewhouse lager enhancer which consisted of dextrose, light dry malt extract , maltodextrin and Dr Rudi Hops. Used Saflayer S-23 yeast. Turned out great. My partner who is not a great beer drinker thoroughly enjoyed this. Not to far off from Corona or Sol. Would definetely brew again.

Page 1 of 79, showing 20 records out of 1562 total, starting on record 1, ending on 20