Reviews

Coopers Stout ignition. October 5th 2016

Incredibly good stout

An excellent kit that produces incredibly good stout (if done right) :)

I used 1x Coopers Stout kit (1.7 kg), 1x Coopers Amber LME (1.5 kg), 1x Coopers BE3 (500 g Light DME, 300 g dextrose, 200 g maltodextrin) topped up to 23 L, fermented Danstar Nottingham Ale yeast for 2 w at 16 degrees celsius, and primed with 110 g of dextrose. ABV 5.4%, 42 IBU, 2.0 vol. CO2.

Coopers Wheat Beer Somebeerguy September 6th 2016

A great kit

This is the new Preacher's Hefe wheat kit (all older reviews from 2015 and back fall out of this category) new kit has Belgian Wheat style yeast, old kit was American style wheat (ale yeast, no esters)

 

I've done probably around 8-10 of these kits now, all slightly different. Lately I've been adding too much seed (20-30g crushed) and it's been too overpowering, to the point where it merges with the yeast to form a ‘sewerage’ type taste and aroma, n that aint' no good.. the sewerage dies off over time and then you just get a coriander seed beer. I've also tried brewing with honey, no different in taste whatsoever because it's so highly fermentable, honey malt would be the go.

 

I've stopped adding peel and settled on 10g coriander seed, 15g pride of Ringwood (very short boil) a bit of Hallertau or similar (again, very short boil) and sometimes some specialty ‘pale ale’ fruity aroma hops (all thrown in to the fermenter) but to tell you the truth I can never even detect these. They have massive effects on ales I brew with clean ale or lager yeast, but the Belgian style yeast provided within the kit is so good these are undetectable. I always use 1.5kg wheat malt extract and the Pride of Ringwood helps bring the final product up to ‘Redback’ clone territory. Another favorite of mine. Always brewed under 22 degrees but finally have one in the fridge at 24 so see if I can detect more banana this batch

 

I feel you can quite easily make a Hoegaarden clone from the kit also. It's versatile, it's simple, choice of yeast is excellent,  it's been rated #1 at beer comps over all grain, it's a great piece of kit

 

Coopers Australian Pale Ale Somebeerguy September 6th 2016

As good as the real thing

Always a good tasting kit no matter what. I prefer to use a BE2 (slightly lower fg over all malt and the final product has a more attractive, lighter colour as most would expect from a draught tap beer, making styles too dark is a mistake most brewers make. Throw an additional couple hundred gms of malt in too for a higher abv) control your temperature, brew it as-is or dry hop with some specialty hops you'll have a beer just as good as a Little Creatures or Fat Yak. I have some US-05 on hand but have never used it with this kit because I fear it might not be as good. That's saying something. It's an excellent base for alot of 'test trial' hamster beers, as is the Coopers Mexican cerveza kit. I use that alot too if I'm looking for a wort without the bitterness ibu. The Mexican kit has about the same bitterness as a VB CUB style draught beer

Coopers European Lager Somebeerguy September 6th 2016

Damn good kit

 

MemberOnlineRegistered: 2016-03-12Posts: 180

 

Well, it's been a while now but I feel compelled to come back with the results of my latest EU lager. As previously written I wasn't looking forward to brewing another after my last all malt attempt. So I took my learning from that to l completely experiment on a new brew I thought might work. And it did!

 

This time I used the kit and kit yeast, DRY ENZYME (yes, I hear those Internet cowboys screaming now..) 300g LLME and 700g dextrose to 25l. I used the dex because last attempt saw what I'd call a ‘nut brown’ ale appearance, which was totally off for the style. Finish seemed to me too thick, aroma too ‘strong’ and tasting notes just too strong and dark for an EU lager.

 

This brew was brewed @ 13 degrees for 4 weeks and has been bottled for 5 days (yea, bit short of the 3 months; I know!) I tried a 3 month old I'd kept just a few weeks ago and it did taste better than I remember so there's definitely something to it. But tasting notes so far are: Great color and clarity, fantastic ‘look’ upon opening and drinking (head looks like a store bought beer with beautiful tiny bubbles making a nice ‘froth’ not the slightly larger bubbles forming head I see brewing most other beers, nose is ‘fresh’ much what you'd expect of a store bought lager, taste? Oh my… wow is all I can say. This one went down quicker than anything I've ever made before, left me tounging for another! But it's only 11am, soooo.. mouthfeel at 1.002fg?.. bloody excellent, I'd never guess in a million years the beer finished that dry without proof of hydro. I'm off to order more enzyme and a few more cans! Happy brewing

EDIT, Just been through my brewing notes and I actually used 500g brew sugar, not 700g dex. With figures lile that I'd say everything fermented out to 100% attenuation bar the malto (Coopers brew sugar has maltodextrin mixed in) SG/OG was 1.040 so 5.4% in the bottle

Cheers

Morgans Royal Oak Amber Ale Richardbutto August 23rd 2016

Never fail great kit

Great easy drinking brew, great with light dry malt  or morgans caramalt, add pride of Ringwood definitely plus galaxy and or armorillo and end up with a craft quality beer at a budget price! 

Coopers Australian Pale Ale Richardbutto August 23rd 2016

Keep it simple

Been making the pale ale kit for quite a while, one of the best was just the kit plus dextrose and dry hop pride of Ringwood, so close to the real thing! Have made with 3 hops plus malts but the basic recipe is the best

Morgans Canadian Light Richardbutto August 23rd 2016

Best easy drinking

Best easy drinking kit, very underrated! Like to make it as a low carb and low gluten brew with just 500g dextrose, dry enzime and dry hop with galaxy, chinook, or tettanger for a great never fail thurst quencher! Really cant go wrong with this kit as a basic or triple hoped pale ale, have done with s04 yeast, 15g cluster, 15g armorillo and 15g wiiliamette and 1.5kg morgans liquid wheat malt as a james squire 150 lashes clone with great results too, supplied yeast is very good too!

Morgans Golden Saaz Pilsener peterlonz August 13th 2016

Very disappointing

Did everything right:

Morgans premium lager yeast, fermented at a constant 21.5 (I do not have fermentation temp control) monitored closely!

Morgans Saaz finishing hops & 1 Kg of Ultrabrew.

It looks like cat's pee, taste is bland. IBU very low & almost zero hop aroma or taste.

Don't bother there are many better kits, Morgans need to do something about this product!

Geordie Scottish Export Beer Kit bobthebrewer April 12th 2016

A Grim Experience

Kit & Kilo, some yeast nutrient added. 

First, the yeast was VERY slow to take off.  Difficult fermentation, very weak yeast and on inspection it smelt bready ... maybe I should have fermented the brew with baker's yeast instead, it might have worked better !

Kegged after two weeks in primary, it spent another 8 days in the keg and it still had not carbed up correctly.  On tasting, you have guessed, it was somewhere between cider and vinegar and with a lot of imagination a hint of beer in the background ... shame it did look nice when I managed to get a glass out of the keg. 

I do not have fermentation problems with my AG brews ... so the brewer is not at fault here.  Everything was done correctly

The moral of the story, I will not be buying single can kits again ... a grim experience, I have been vaccinated.

Coopers Australian Pale Ale bobthebrewer April 12th 2016

Drinkable ?

Kit & Kilo, no mods.

This one reminded me of what my HB tasted like when I started back in 1988 ... pretty grim in other words.  The result would be just about drinkable if I were young, stupid, unemployed, totally broke and I needed to get drunk.  I could force it down.  Just.  

Most of the reviews on the site seem pretty positive.  Most of the reviewers however seem to have tarted up the kit in some way.  Maybe I am spoilt and the comparison with AG puts this kit in a poor light. ?

Drinkable? Not for me, not today.  I would not buy this kit again.  It gets a two star rating solely because the kit does produce a beer of some sorts, just.

Muntons Pils kubilay April 6th 2016

Muntons Scottish Style Heavy Ale MonsterVic March 27th 2016

Great one, almost a stout

After about 5-6 days fermenation and 12 days in the bottles it's already great.

Made it with standard sugar from the kitchen, following the instructions.

Really hard to explain how it tastes,  it's really a heavy ale almost as sweet as a stout, but definitely has it's own character, and very strong body, and dense, probably because it's only 17Litre from the same amount as usually a 23 Litre kit.

Color is dark,  don't put too many bubbles in as it's just wouldn't match this style,  I made it with 5.4g sugar per Litre.

I will make this one again for sure.

Muntons Canadian Style Beer chlehb March 12th 2016

Dissapointed

I brewed this kit with 1.5kg of light LME and 100g corn sugar. I added 20g each of Cascade and Amarillo @20min left in the boil. I proofed the yeast and pitched 6g Brewferm top along with the kit yeast. Fermentation was at 18°. It didn't ferment well, FG was 1.016 (OG was 1.040). The beer has been in the bottle for a month now. It has carbed nicely but it's really nothing special. It's lacking in body and taste and it's too sweet because of the high FG. I would not brew this kit again.

Coopers India Pale Ale (IPA) MonsterVic March 9th 2016

Nice one

Made this kit 3 times. Actually I have never made it at is I have always added some Citra or Mosaic hops.

But in nutshell I think it's a great kit for the price / Litre.

The only downside is that somehow it has a small sour taste, I had this in all 3.

Muntons IPA Bitter MonsterVic March 9th 2016

One of the bests

This was one of the best I did so far (7 total),  way better than Coopers IPA.

Strange that they are calling it as bitter because it's actually almost sweet.

I have dry hopped with about 15g Citra for about 6-7 days after the fermentation finished which gave it a freat smell, and added 5.3g / Litre sugar to the bottles.

It was very quickly drinkable (1 week) but 2-3 more weeks in the bottles just made it better, the 45 bottles dissapeared very quickly :)

Definitely I'll make this one again in the future.

Easter Chocolate Stout bobthebrewer March 6th 2016

Bulldog Chocolate Stout

Kit done according to the instructions.  Six weeks in the bottle before tasting.

A difficult one this.  I am sure the kit does what it is meant to do ... the problem is, I don't like the beer. 

On the nose : 100% cocoa, dark chocolate

Nice tight tan head, thick and creamy, perfect carbonation.

On the tongue : there are the roasty bitter flavours that are typical of a stout coupled with a fortified wine, port type flavour..  On the tongue, it tastes more like a fortified wine or port than a beer.  Did someone design the recipe thinking of putting a tot of port into a pint of stout ?  If so, then the kit works perfectly.  But I just don't like it. 

I have given the kit a two star rating because I don't like the beer.  There is no way I would repeat this kit.  But there are perhaps people out there who would find it excellent ?  I hate bananas ... a lot of people think they are gorgeous.  I think this is a question of personal taste, so please don't take my word for the truth ... I would recommend finding a few more reviews before making a final decision.

Coopers Ginger Ale Drunk Dutch March 3rd 2016

Just found my new brew !

10 out 10 !!!  Just brewed my first ginger beer - and it ain't going to be my last !

Coopers Australian Pale Ale chlehb February 3rd 2016

Nice Pale Ale to tune to your liking

This was my very first brew. I used only 250g of DME and 500g of dextrose. I added some NB bittering hops during the boil, I wish I had added some aroma hops as well. 8 days in primary, followed by 2 weeks in the bottle. I may do this kit again some day as it's a really nice base. I would definitely suggest to: a) use at least 1kg of DME or LME, b) do a short boil with some Cascade or Amarillo. You don't really need additional bittering, c) use no more than 19L of water, d) light dry hop with maybe 15g of your aroma hop.

Muntons Nut Brown Ale bobthebrewer December 7th 2015

Kit & Kilo

Kit & kilo, no mods, out the tin, add the sugar and you are away. 

Three weeks later, out of the bottle.  It's a fine pint.  There is the very slight acidic zing that comes from adding all of that sugar relative the malt extract but other than that, it's fine. There are no major roasty flavours, it's wet, fizzy, tastes of beer.   I would rather drink this than a lot of commercial beers out there on the supermarket shelves.  It is not a universe stopper, a perfectly fine session beer but considering the price and the ease of use, what more could you want?  For me, the kit gets a five star because it does "what it says on the tin" so to speak ... it's cheap, easy to use and the results are reasonable, if not mind-blowing.  And it still works out far cheaper than those beers you'll find in the stores ...

Coopers Stout beerfoot December 2nd 2015

stout and nothing but stout

been brewing it for the last 8 years +

never had a bad brew,

tryed adding licorish ,coffee etc,but none seem to last in flaver over time

recently have been using BREWMASTERS stout inhancer 50 ml per 23l  and 500 gm of lactose ,the lactose smothes it out incredably great initaly but still disappers after time [ 3-4 weeks]

i only use quater of the yeast and only 500 grams of sugar [ 2 stroke i no ]but you can drink a heap more and dont start speaking dutch and talking brail lol

 

 

Page 6 of 79, showing 20 records out of 1576 total, starting on record 101, ending on 120